Anvisa updates list of flight restrictions for countries in Africa

Angola, Malawi, Mozambique and Zambia were added to the list

Published in 28/11/2021 - 10:29 By Agência Brasil - Brasília

The National Health Surveillance Agency (Anvisa) published, last night (27), a complementary technical note that includes four more African countries on the list of restrictions on flights and arrivals in Brazil. They are Angola, Malawi, Mozambique and Zambia.

According to the agency, passengers who have been to these countries may be carriers of the Ômicron variant of the new coronavirus, which has already been identified in Europe, but which has not yet been widely studied. For the flight restriction to be put into practice, Anvisa depends on a joint ordinance with the Civil House, Ministry of Health and Ministry of Justice and Public Security.

Anvisa had already issued a technical note recommending that visitors from South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Namibia and Zimbabwe not disembark in Brazil. Other countries, such as the United States, England, Holland and France have already established similar measures.

The Ômicron variant remains the target of accelerated research in medical centers and universities in the southern region of Africa, also known as southern Africa.

Text translated using artificial intelligence.

Edition: Pedro Ivo de Oliveira

Latest news