Covid-19: minister announces ban on flights from six countries

Omicron variant worries health authorities

Published in 26/11/2021 - 21:51 By Agência Brasil - Brasília

Brazil will close air borders with six African countries in the face of a new variant of coronavirus, the Minister of Civil Affairs, Ciro Nogueira, informed this Friday.

According to him, the restriction will affect, from next Monday (29), passengers from South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, Zimbabwe and Eswatini (ex-Swaziland).

"Brazil will close the air borders to six African countries due to the new variant of the coronavirus. We will protect Brazilians in this new phase of the pandemic in that country. An ordinance will be published tomorrow and should take effect from Monday", published the minister on Twitter.

The new variant of the coronavirus identified in South Africa, named omicron, was declared this Friday a variant of concern by the World Health Organization (WHO).

Earlier, the National Health Surveillance Agency (Anvisa) recommended the government to restrict flights and travelers from countries in the south of the African continent , including South Africa.

The Brazilian decision followed travel restrictions imposed by several countries, such as the United Kingdom, the United States and the European Union.

Text translated using artificial intelligence.

Edition: Pedro Ivo de Oliveira

Latest news