Following China, four countries lift embargo on Brazilian beef

Other six countries continue to block the product

Published on 24/03/2023 - 09:23 By Wellton Máximo - Repórter da Agência Brasil - Brasília

Following China's example, four other countries lifted the embargo on the importation of Brazilian beef, Brazil’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs informed without naming the countries. According to the note released on Thursday (Mar. 23), six countries continue to block the product: Bahrain, Kazakhstan, Qatar, Iran, Russia, and Thailand.

After a month of the embargo due to a case of atypical mad cow disease (non-transmissible) in Pará state, China—the main buyer of Brazilian beef—decided to resume imports. The announcement was made in China by Brazilian Minister of Agriculture and Livestock Carlos Fávaro, who met on Thursday (23) with Minister of the General Administration of Chinese Customs (GACC) Yu Jianhua.


Translation: Mário Nunes -  Edition: Marcelo Brandão

Latest news